Leadership team


Within the Institute, a leadership team meets on a monthly basis. The leadership team is:

Steering Committee

UNSW-GWI is overseen by a Steering Committee of Deans chaired by Professor Mark Hoffman as lead Dean (Engineering); accompanied by Professor Susan Dodds, Dean of Arts and Social Sciences; Professor Emma Johnston, Dean of Science; Professor George Williams, Dean of Law, and Professor Gregory Leslie, Acting Director of UNSW-GWI.

International Advisory Committee

UNSW-GWI receives advice from an international panel of renowned global water experts, spanning many sectors and geographies. The International Advisory Committee is comprised of:

  • John Dore, Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (Asia)
  • Karin Krchnak, Head of 2030 Water Resources Group, World Bank Water Practice
  • Richard McLoughlin, Assistant Secretary Water Resources, Australian Department of Agriculture and Water Resources
  • David Molden, Director General, International Centre for Integrated Mountain Development (ICIMOD)
  • Rod Naylor, Executive General Manager, Veolia Australia and New Zealand
  • Ganesh Pangare, Regional Director Asia, International Water Association
  • Nan-Maree Schoerie, General Manager, Ventia Utility Services
  • Tom Soo, Executive Director, World Water Council
  • Michael Spencer, Chairman, Alliance for Water Stewardship
  • Dr William Young, Water Leader, World Bank