Organising Committee

The Organising Committee for the 2020 Symposium is comprised of subject matter experts and administrative support from key Australian Universities.

Professor Greg Leslie - UNSW Global Water Institute (Chair)

Greg is the director of the Global Water Institute and the UNESCO Centre for Membrane Science and Technology at the University of New South Wales, Australia. Prior to joining UNSW, he worked in the public and private sector on water treatment, reuse and desalination projects in Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, Hong Kong and the United States. His experience includes work on the NEWater recycling projects for the Singapore Public Utilities Board and the Groundwater Water Replenishment System at the Orange County Water District (OCWD) in California. He served on the World Health Organisation Technical Committee that developed guidelines for desalination, the Water Issue Committee for the Australian National Health and Medical Research Council and the Independent Advisory Panel for the Orange County Groundwater Replenishment Project. Greg received a B.Sc. from the University of Sydney and a Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering from the University of New South Wales.

Dr Amir Razmjou - UNSW (Co-Chair)

Spending more than a decade on teaching, research and development, Dr Razmjou, finalist for the Eureka prize, has accrued multidisciplinary skills to develop innovative technologies for biomedical and environmental applications. His surface architecturing skills using functional nanostructured materials alongside biofunctionalization have helped him to develop innovative membranes for desalination and water treatment, and nanobiosensors. Inspiring form nature, ion-selective nanochannels, and nanopores are strategically being designed to utilize for selectively controlling transportation phenomena in atomic scale. Dr Razmjou’s current research focuses on designing ion-selective nanostructured membranes for Li-ion separations and resource recovery, developing advanced Biomicrofluidics systems using microfabrication technologies, and biocatalytic conversion of CO2 using membranes. Dr Razmjou, the editorial board member of Desalination, has published more than 100 peer-reviewed papers (October 2020) in related top-tier journals and supervised more than 20 postgraduate students. His current research focuses on designing ion-selective nanostructured membranes for Li-ion separations and resource recovery, developing advanced Biomicrofluidics systems using microfabrication technologies (MEMS, NEMS and nanobiosenoures), and biocatalytic conversion of CO2. 

Dr Ludovic Dumee - Deakin University 

Dr. Ludo DUMEE works as an A/Prof. of Separation materials within the flagship Chemical Engineering Department of Khalifa University, in Abu Dhabi, UAE. Ludo is a materials engineer interested in the development and application of advanced separation materials, primarily focused on membranes and catalysts. His research interests lay in the understanding of nanoscale interactions between contaminants and surfaces as well as the design of reactive and stimuli-responsive materials in the water, gas and healthcare applications. He is particularly interested in the engineering and combinatorial inclusion of carbon allotropes and ceramics nano-coatings across metal and polymeric materials to control the texture and reactivity of separation materials at the nanoscale. His work has been focused on the development of innovative solutions to tackle environmental challenges arising from emerging micro-pollutants, such as PFAS or microplastics, as well as the simultaneous separation and conversion of gases into fuels and monomers to facilitate resource recovery and conversion. He is an advocate of Circular Materials Manufacturing and Engineering and is always keen to collaborate on multi-disciplinary topics.

Dr Mahdokht Shaibani - Monash University

Dr Mahdokht Shaibani is an energy storage researcher, inventor, and solution provider. She has expertise in materials synthesis, engineering, and scale-up for next-generation energy storage systems, including lithium metal batteries, silicon anodes, flow batteries, supercapacitors, and lithium-ion capacitors. Mahdokht has conducted pioneering research in developing practical graphene-based protection technologies and expansion-tolerant architectures for stabilizing lithium-sulfur batteries. She explores the applications of Li-S batteries and Graphene supercapacitors in transportation, grid storage, and wireless sensor networks. Mahdokht has a passion for writing and communicating stories of a scientific nature and has authored several opinion and analysis pieces on critical energy-related topics suitably simplified for raising the awareness in general public. Mahdokht has a PhD in Mechanical Engineering, with a focus on energy storage from Monash University, Australia.


Andrew Symington - UNSW

Andy Symington is a PhD candidate in the Faculty of Law at UNSW Sydney, an associate of the Australian Human Rights Institute and a UNSW Public Policy Fellow. He is working in the area of business and human rights with a particular focus on corporate engagement with rights norms in South America’s lithium industry. In 2018 he received UNSW’s inaugural Judith Parker Wood Memorial Prize for human rights law. He is also an experienced and widely published freelance travel writer and journalist.

Dr Anna Siekierka - Deakin University

Trish Dalby - UNSW

Leesa L'Episcopo - UNSW